Awards - Calls for Nominations: AAAS ISC, ISETT

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is accepting submissions for the International Scientific Cooperation Award 2004. Past recipients include Mahabir P. Gupta from the University of Panama in 2003, L.S. Fletcher from Texas A&M University in 2002, and Günther Bauer from the Institutes for Semiconductor Physics at the University of Linz in Austria. The award, which is open to all nationalities, recognizes individuals who contribute significantly towards furthering international cooperation in science and engineering. Nominations must be submitted no later than August 1, 2004.
For eligibility, nomination procedures and other details visit AAAS at:

{access view=guest}Access to the full article is free, but requires you to register. Registration is simple and quick - all we need is your name and a valid e-mail address. We appreciate your interest in bridges.{/access} {access view=!guest}ISETT 2004
The Sustainable Energy Institute (SEI) is a Washington, D.C.-based non-profit organization committed to enhancing public awareness and understanding of future energy supply and demand options and their implications. SEI primarily focuses on promoting debate on sustainable energy solutions. In 2001, SEI created the Sustainable Energy Top Ten Awards (SETT) project, aiming at recognizing ten leaders that made significant impacts on sustainable energy policies and practices in the U.S. Among the inaugural series of SETT awardees are Senator Jeff Bingaman, Chairman of the Senate Energy & Natural Resources Committee, Congressman Sherwood Boehlert, Chairman of the House Science Committee, Ms. Jennifer Morgan, Climate Change Campaign Director at the World Wildlife Fund, and Dr. Takehisa Yaegashi, Senior Chief Engineer at Toyota Motor Corporation, among others.

In 2004, SEI decided to broaden the geographical scope of the award by including international nominees. The International Sustainable Energy Top Ten Awards (ISEET) 2004 will recognize ten notable international leaders in the public, private and non-governmental sectors for their initiatives to promote sustainable energy policies and practices. Candidates must have shown leadership and innovation in areas including: energy efficiency measures; strategies for reducing carbon and other emissions from fossil fuels; low- and zero-emission vehicles; mass transit and smart growth policies; renewable energy technologies; carbon sequestration technologies; and advanced nuclear energy technologies. Recipients of the 2004 ISEET will be individuals considered highly influential proponents of sustainable energy policy and practices worldwide, with an emphasis on developing countries.

For nominations of candidates and further details visit: