• Home

About OSTA Washington

The Office of Science and Technology Austria (OSTA) Washington was established in 2001 at the Austrian Embassy in Washington, DC. A 2002 recommendation by the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development encouraged the initiative to create such an office. The office supports the exchange of science, research, technology and innovation between Austria and North America in order to strengthen the Austrian innovation system.

The OSTA is an initiative of the Austrian Government, currently supported by three Austrian ministries:
  • Federal Ministry for European , Integration and Foreign Affairs, BMEIA (Bundesministerium für Europa, Integration und Äußeres)
  • Federal Ministry of Science, Research and Economy, BMWFW (Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft)
  • Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology, BMVIT (Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie)
The attaché for Science & Technology at the Embassy of Austria in Washington, DC, serves as director of the OSTA. Representatives of the three funding ministries form the Board of Directors, which is the supervisory board of the OSTA. This board determines strategic goals, financial planning, and the annual budget, and oversees the OST's work program and reporting to the funding ministries.


 Print  Email